Fallout Easter Egg in “Please, Don’t Touch Anything”

I bought an indie game on Steam called Please, Don’t Touch Anything. It was a fun diversion for under $5. The art is highly reminiscent of Papers, Please but it plays more like The Stanley Parable with a sort of dark meta humor and endless repetition.

Like Stanley Parable it is loaded with different possible endings and I found one of them to be particularly interesting considering my proclivity to notice all things Fallout related.

There are a few Easter eggs in the game, including a Futurama reference and a reference to Papers, Please, a very aesthetically similar indie game. The one that caught my eye only happens for about 10 frames of the game and then disappears.

Here it is, I’ve input several complex codes on the console and a date bar appeared before me, I decided to click the forward button as you can see. The date that pops up is 24:10:2077, clearly in dd:mm:yyyy form. For those of you that are less familiar with the Fallout timeline this is the day after the Great War begins and ends, transforming the world into a harsh and desperate wasteland.

Following this quick frame is a picture of a ruined city and an unidentified object in the sky.

Perhaps the date was a coincidence, but I doubt it considering all of the other easter eggs in this game. I’m still not sure what the object in the sky is, it looks like the moon being torn in half.